(Hoping to be) Syndrome-Free

La Boca, Buenos Aires

[And when I wrote “I’ll do my best to update it regularly”, I wonder if I didn’t follow through because of x or because of y, or if I did really try but being busy got the best of me.]

Around a year ago, before moving from Buenos Aires to Madrid, a good friend told me that I was suffering from the traveller’s syndrome.  A not-so-rare disease, he defined it as that tendency we humans present to hold on to small things from our past, right before making drastic changes in our lives.

We refuse to let go of details and we make them indispensable: because life apparently couldn’t keep on functioning without that dear cafe where we read and had infinite cappuccinos, without that old lover, without that childhood friend, without that favourite restaurant… and it can.  Nothing is indispensable really, other than our essences.  We unconsciously fall on the treacherous traps of the traveller’s syndrome and suddenly we’re convinced that it’s the end of the world.

Good news: one year later, I can happily tell you that it isn’t the end of the world.
Not for now, and not because of this.

Leave a comment